The key to great entertaining is to razzle dazzle your guests. The key to sane entertaining is to produce that razzle dazzle with minimal FRAZZLE!!!! Impossible you say, well not with this 3 ingredient Wow’em cake!!!! Technically it is more a dessert but with it’s presentation one can easily call it a cake and get away with it.

Years back, I made the mistake of toting this with me to a friend’s Mardi Gras Party. These folks have 2 events a year, Mardi Gras and July 4th and to this day I am not allowed admittance without this cake by my side. Now I am not a stupid boy, these folks put on a great spread so I am most definitely gonna make sure I have at least 2 of these ready to go! I must confess, this is to be my first time sharing this recipe and I am laden with guilt; again these folks are no strangers to the kitchen yet for whatever reason they think this cake to be a marvel of science and engineering…this is for you guys!!!!

Chocolate Mousse Cake

  • 1 cup Chocolate chips (semi, milk, white or any combo)
  • 3 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1 1/2 cups oreo cookie crumbs
  • Dash salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Process cookie crumbs, drizzle in a few drops of cream just till moist, press into bottom of a 9″ springform pan. Place 1 cup chocolate chips and 1/4 cup cream in a microwave safe bowl, heat on high for 2 mins, stirring after 30 second intervals till smooth and incorporated. Whip remaining 3 cups heavy cream with salt and vanilla till stiff (careful as homemade butter is a few seconds past stiff!!). Add about 1/4 of the whipped cream to the chocolate and fold till uniform. Add this mix to remaining whipped cream and gently fold together. “Pour” this into springform pan and smooth top level. Refrigerate 2 hours.

Yep, that’s it kids, 3 ingredients (the salt and vanilla don’t really count), less than 20 mins kitchen time and still way under 10 bucks!!!!!

Now that’s one Helluva Cake!!!!!!!