Late….

No time…..

Gotta rush…..

Oh, I had plans for this post, my house has become a 2 Daring Baker joint and I thought I would have a lot to say about it all.  I envisioned myself as a teacher assisting the newbie yet also a (not so) Iron Chef competitor firing up dueling ovens!  Didn’t happen!!!!!

The January 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Lauren of Celiac Teen.   Lauren chose Gluten-Free Graham Wafers and Nanaimo Bars as the challenge for the month. The sources she based her recipe on are 101 Cookbooks and www.nanaimo.ca.

Celiac disease is not something that affects me closely, if at all  but I applaud Lauren for what she is doing for herself and others in converting recipes to fit her needs.  With that being said, I apologize to her for not following her challenge 100% but sorghum and rice flours were simply not in the budget, which has as of late tightened considerably.  I did, however, make the wheat version of the graham crackers…..and I am really glad that I did…they are fantastic!!!

Before I take you on a quick pictorial of my progress and my thoughts on the challenge, let me first give you a glimpse into the state of my mind and how very very acute my powers of observation were this month.  As I was rolling out the dough, I was inundated with the scent of GRAHAM CRACKERS…it was as if my entire kitchen were filled from floor to ceiling with GRAHAM CRACKERS.  As I rolled, I kept thinking to myself (in complete amazement), “wow! this stuff smells just like GRAHAM CRACKERS!!”.  Really John???  GRAHAM CRACKER dough that smells like GRAHAM CRACKERS and not a bacon cheeseburger, who’da thunk it?!?!?!?  Apparently, nothing gets by me!!!

Hey!!! This stuff smells just like GRAHAM CRACKERS!!!

No Bake chewy ooey brownie-esque base!

Yummy Nutella filling layer!

The icing on the cake...so to speak!

The icing on the cake...so to speak!

As for the Nanaimo Bars, I have heard of them,  have wanted to try them and now can say I have.  As a complete package they were a little over the top for me…..just too rich for my taste.   As individual components, well that’s a different story.  The topping,  that is something I have used often in candy making and it is a pretty straightforward taste.  The base, with all the GRAHAM CRACKERS, was like a luscious dense no bake brownie and I have plans for working with it again!  The filling, oh the divine filling!!!!! I initially intended to follow the recipe with no additions but as I was reaching for the vanilla pudding I spied none other than my jar of Nutella.  Yes, that one thing that makes my world go round!!!!!  So of course I had to add a tablespoon or 3 of my silky friend to the filling…do I need to say more????  Truly, the Angels sang!!!!

So again, I gotta rush but I highly recommend giving these a shot, if not as a whole as individual components.  However, if I were one to know what a small portion were, these might have not been so overwhelming……so cut em small and enjoy!!!!!

Thank You Lauren!!!