Toffee Brownies

At this moment in time I have about 6.5 lbs of chocolate covered toffee squares just hanging around the house….basically enough to last for the next 10 years, as Ray or myself aren’t prone to partake of toffee on its own.  Don’t get me wrong it is not that we don’t like it but, well, it is kind of like the old “tootsie pop” question of how many licks does it take to get to the center of one…no one really knows because sooner or later you have to bite into it.  Same with toffee and there is no way either of us are risking a trip to the dentist for that!  So in an effort to put a slight dent into this stockpile I whipped up a batch of my favorite from scratch brownies and added a healthy dose of crushed toffee…..no big write up on the hows, whys and whats, just a recipe, a picture or two and a big old brownie smile for you all.

This is the recipe my grandmother used and in truth I have searched for something different but never with the same result.  Also, I have seen this recipe everywhere on the internet so I call it…..

Granny’s
&
The World’s
Simple and Basic Scratch Brownies
  • 1 cup butter (melted)
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2  cup cocoa
  • 2 cups  flour
  • pinch of salt
  • nuts,  chocolate chunks, caramel pieces or anything you would like

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Cream melted butter and sugar.
  3. Once the butter and sugar are light and fluffy  switch to a spoon for mixing.  Brownies can get tough if worked too much.
  4. Add the vanilla and eggs and mix just until smooth.
  5. Sift cocoa,  flour and salt together and add to creamed mixture.    Mix lightly until smooth and lumps are broken up.
  6. If you want to add extras, lightly fold in whatever you choose.
  7. Spread the batter into a 9×13 pan (Granny didn’t say to prep the pan but I always give it a coating of butter and cocoa powder) and bake 25 to 30 minutes at 350 degrees F.

Obviously, to the above recipe I added the toffee, I had about 1 1/4 cups of crushed toffee, which I divided and added 3/4 cup to the mix and then when they came out of the oven, I sprinkled the remainder over the top.   When I make these plain I use Scharffen Berger Cocoa but since I was adding the chocolate coated toffee I went with Hershey’s instead.

There are some very good store bought brownie mixes out there but with a recipe this simple and results this great all I can ask is, “Why?”.

Oh, there is still about 6 lbs of toffee left!!!  More brownies,  I guess.